What would you do if money were no option?

This isn’t a limerick of what I would do if money were no option. I know that my answer, should I consider this question, would be that I would travel and write. But, that’s what I intend to do with my life.

This question posed by a video that has made a recent appearance via Facebook has brought a rant to the forefront of my mind.

As teenagers, we are subjected daily to the question of “what are you going to do with your life?” Be it from a role model, adult authority, or ourselves. Every day I think about how I’m going to make enough money via writing to work my way through an extensive bucket list.

In all reality, making money isn’t the issue. I think that’s kind of a stigma that only plagues America. In most countries, people work in order to play. In America, we work to work more. We strive to get promotions that will make us more money and also shovel piles more responsibility onto us; which leaves us no time to enjoy the luxuries the money has given us.

You don’t have to be a multi-millionaire to travel and see all of the things you want to see. You don’t have to waste 8 years in law school to make $200,000 a year to afford to go to Spain when once you’ve gotten that job you’re too busy doing it to ever go to Spain. Am I making sense? If being a lawyer is what you want to do with your life, then that’s great.

My English teacher is a single, 27 year old woman. On a teacher’s salary she’s been to South America, Australia, Europe (3 times), Africa, and Asia. You can have beautiful, exotic life experiences with a mere 9-to-5 if you want it. You can do something simple, that you love, and still get to experience the world around you.

What I’m saying is: God (or science) has given us approximately 100 years on this Earth. While, respectively, God (or science) has given us about a billion-trillion things (cultures, sights, nature, art) on this Earth to experience and they weren’t created divinely or sporadically to sit idly away and not be seen or experienced. This planet is so huge and so beautiful, I can’t understand why we would even want to waste away 50 years in an office working at a mediocre job, living a mediocre life just to afford house and car when there are fulfilling experiences to be had.

Society has told us that having a house, car, and well-manicured lawn is the dream. THAT’S supposed to be my dream? Are you kidding me? I’m supposed to dream about having a house in the suburb that I already live in when the islands of Barbados, the Cave of Swallows, thousands of musicians, museums, and The Coliseum are all out there waiting to be seen?! No way am I wasting away at 8 years of college and working toward a pension to miss all of that.

If getting an extensive education is your dream and you pursue it, that’s what life is about. If having a house in the suburbs is your dream and you get it, that’s what life is about. If going to Easter Island is your dream and you go, that’s what life is about. It’s not about being told you have to make $200,000 a year to be happy. And it’s certainly not about living life the way society has told you you have to live it.

tumblr_m944ue4nKF1qdq2rdo1_500

Leave a Reply

